What's happening with Conservancy and its member projects? We've got videos, blogs, code releases and upcoming events -- all in one handy place! sfconservancy.org/blog/2019/ap

@clacke There will be! And we will absolutely post about it here, when they're up. :)

"When a company tells me they don't have the source code available, I add them to the list in my head of brands I will not buy." @pchestek on source code and security. sfconservancy.org/blog/2019/ap

With VMware finally announcing its plans to remove the non-complying code, Hellwig decides not to appeal. The VMware case wraps up:

Swing by Conservancy's IRC channel, on freenode.net
at 2pm EST tomorrow for help applying to be part of Season of the Docs

Congratulations to our Director of Community Operations @freedeb for receiving this year's Award for the Advancement of Free Software at this weekend! sfconservancy.org/news/2019/ma

We could not be more proud of our Director of Community Operations, @freedeb for winning the @fsf's Award for all of the amazing work she has done over the years promoting user freedom and making the community more welcoming!

Our Director of Community Operations, @freedeb will speak about Free Software/Utopia: how the movement could be more successful, this weekend at the Free Software Foundation's annual conference in Cambridge, MA sfconservancy.org/blog/2019/ma

"If Open Source Isn't Sustainable, Maybe Software Freedom Is?" Didn't catch Bkuhn's talk at two weeks ago? Well, you're in luck! The video is up now. youtube.com/watch?v=HFYAO8eiRk

Defining "sustainable" for an open-source project, Jake Edge at LWN wrote up Bkuhn's talk at SCaLE two weeks ago, lwn.net/Articles/783169/

Conservancy is now an OSI Affiliate Member. "By joining as an affiliate member, we affirm our support of collaboration to promote the ideals of software freedom." says our Executive Director, @o0karen0o sfconservancy.org/news/2019/ma

Turns out the non-text only RSS is tied to the website software, but text only RSS is on our wishlist when we upgrade -- which we hope to do in the future. @n8

If there are problematic things community members should aware of in the ToS, that would certainly be good for people to know. Thanks for thinking of it!
@arthurlutz @ToSDR @olasd

Attendees at have been asking our opinion of . We've posted our analysis of it. Most notably, the platform is proprietary software, not FOSS. sfconservancy.org/blog/2019/ma

We posted an analysis of how 's fits into existing ecosystems of FOSS . Most notably, is *not* FOSS itself, but a proprietary software application targeted at FOSS developers. More at: sfconservancy.org/blog/2019/ma

From @faifcast: We released 0x62, third in our four part series about our 2019 keynote. This is the last episode of final preparations before we give the talk, in which @o0karen0o & @bkuhn_ebb_org focus on the issue of others using proprietary software on your behalf.

Kids using MicroBlocks to build little robots that are happy when it's quiet and sad when it's noisy. Love the decorations on the boxes -- can be fun and pretty! youtube.com/watch?v=kzui87w8vH

Show more
Mastodon for Tech Folks

This Mastodon instance is for people interested in technology. Discussions aren't limited to technology, because tech folks shouldn't be limited to technology either!

We adhere to an adapted version of the TootCat Code of Conduct and follow the Toot Café list of blocked instances. Ash is the admin and is supported by Fuzzface, Brian!, and Daniel Glus as moderators.

Hosting costs are largely covered by our generous supporters on Patreon – thanks for all the help!